Meet the QCSO

Board of Trustees



Patrons and Friends,

Welcome to our thrilling 102nd season, building on our blockbuster 100-year anniversary celebration and highly successful 101st season! I feel privileged to be working with an organization of the caliber and longevity of the Quad City Symphony, and look forward to doing my part to help position the organization for success.

Few orchestras have survived 100 years. What must we do to survive and thrive in our next century? We must continue to deliver on our mission to offer superb symphonic music to enrich the lives of everyone in the Quad Cities region. We must inspire, entertain and engage our community. We must continue to expand our commitment to education and cultural leadership. And, we must do this while delighting our audiences with the most thoughtfully curated programming, setting the stage for our advancement.

Our Masterworks season will begin with The Re-Creation of our first concert, an exact replica of that very first Tri-City Symphony performance in 1916. We'll end the season with one of Mahler's masterworks, the massive and moving Symphony #2, featuring more than 100 musicians.

We will also make a concerted effort to engage a wider audience for the next century through a unique program entitled Communities in Concert, designed to develop new enthusiasts and expose more people in our community to the beauty of live symphonic performances. Would you like to help the QCSO deliver on its vision? We need your energy enthusiasm and ideas to build our foundation for continued excellence, engagement and growth over our next 100 years.

Come join me in the music--I'd love to hear from you!


Sue Honsey
QCSO Board of Trustees
Contact Me




Sue Honsey, President†

CFO, Sedona Group

Tom Spitzfaden, Executive VP†

VP & Treasurer, Deere & Company

Darlene Steffen, Treasurer†

Certified Financial Planner

Rick Johnson, Secretary†

VP, Chief Information Officer, HNI Corporation

R. Scott Van Vooren, Past President†

Partner, Lane and Waterman LLP

Full Board of Trustees


Steven C. Bahls†

President, Augustana College

Daniel Churchill

Attorney, Churchill and Churchill

Harry G. Coin

CEO, N4 Communications

Joseph D'Souza

Adjunct Asst. Professor, Univ. of Iowa College of Dentistry

Charlotte Doehler-Morrison

VP, Mktg. & Comm., QC Convention and Visitor's Bureau

Patricia Duffy

President, Personal Marketing Research, Inc

Kristin Esche

Senior Counsel, Deere & Company

Carolyn B. Hamilton

Arts Advocate

George Hesse (Ex-officio)†

President, Volunteers for Symphony

Michael Hutchison

Deputy to the Commanding General, U.S. Army Sustainment Command

Angela Lewis


Benjamin Loeb (Ex-officio)†

Executive Director, QCSO

Julie McHard-Shike†


Ann McNamara

Counselor, Wood Intermediate School

Jacqueline O'Donnell

Administrative Director, Quad City Cultural Trust

Marsha Pedersen

Arts Advocate

Jeffrey Porter

Owner, Five Star Salon Spa

Susan Quail†

Retired Educator, Arts Advocate

Marysue Salmon

Owner, Cuisine Cooking School

Gregory P. Schermer†

VP Retired, Strategy, Lee Enterprises Inc.

Eloise A. Smit


Mark Russell Smith (Ex-officio)

Music Director, QC Symphony

Annette M. Tephly†

Counsel, Modern Woodmen of America

R. Hovey Tinsman III†

CEO, Twin State

Archana Wagle
Anesthesiologist, UnityPoint Pain Management Clinic

Aaron Wetzel

Vice President - Global Crop Care Platform John Deere

Susan Zude†

VP & PCG Managing Dir., U.S. Bank Private Client Group QC

† Executive Committee


Honorary Trustees

Former Board of Trustees Presidents